North-Eastern Atlantic, Mediterranean and connected seas

Tsunami Information Centre

Tsunami Intensity Scale

New Tsunami Intensity Scale

The new tsunami intensity scale was introduced by Papadopoulos and Imamura (Proposal for a new tsunami intensity scale. Proceedings of the 20th International Tsunami Conference, Seattle, 7-9 August 2001, 569-577, 2001), incorporates 12 divisions and is consistent with the 12-grade seismic intensity scale. The new scale is arranged according to the effects on humans, on nature and objects, including vessels of variable size, and on buildings and other engineered constructions.

Read the full description of the tsunami intensity scale.

Tsunami Intensity Scale