FAO Fishing Areas
Home ] Up ] Phytoplankton ] Chlorophyll ] Zooplankton ] Algae and Kelp ] Mangroves ] Seagrasses ] Terrestrial Vegetation ] [ FAO Fishing Areas ] Catch & Aquaculture Statistics ] Commercial fisheries ] Corals ] Fishes ] Invertebrates ] Mammals ] Reptiles ] Birds ] Protected Areas ] IUCN Red List Species ] Exotic and Invasive Species ]


Human Environment
Atlas Team

For statistical purposes, 27 major fishing areas have been designated by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. These comprise eight major inland fishing areas covering the inland waters of the continents, and nineteen major marine fishing areas covering the waters of the Atlantic, Indian, Pacific and Southern Oceans, with their adjacent seas. (FAO 1990)

  • Name: FAO fishing areas - three major areas for coastal Africa
  • Source and metadata:  FAO
  • Original Publisher - Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
  • Citation: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO-UN). c1990- CWP Handbook of Fishery Statistical Standards - Section H: FISHING AREAS FOR STATISTICAL PURPOSES. FIGIS Ontology Sheets.FAO - Rome. Updated Wed Jan 31 15:09:35 CET 2007.Available via FIGIS from: http://www.fao.org/figis/servlet/static?dom=ontology&xml=sectionH.xml [Accessed Feb 22 2007].
  • Processing notes: FAO fishing areas were digitised from the hard copy report
  • Data
  • Additional resources: FAO fisheries data and information may be downloaded directly from the FAO Fisheries Global Information System (FIGIS)